System of Government
Who Vetoes Bills

Who vetoes bills?

The power to veto bills lies with the President of the United States. When a bill has been passed by both the House of Representatives and the Senate, it is sent to the President for consideration. The President has the option to either sign the bill into law or veto it.

A veto is the President's formal rejection of a bill. By vetoing a bill, the President indicates their refusal to sign it into law. This can occur for various reasons, such as disagreement with the content of the bill, concerns about its constitutionality, or a belief that it is not in the best interest of the country.

Once a bill is vetoed, it is returned to Congress with the President's objections. At this point, Congress has the opportunity to reconsider the bill. If both the House of Representatives and the Senate vote by a two-thirds majority to override the veto, the bill can still become law despite the President's objections.

The power of the veto serves as a significant check on the legislative process, allowing the President to influence or block legislation. It is one of the mechanisms that maintains a balance of power between the executive and legislative branches of the federal government.