Symbols and Holidays
Why Does the Flag Have 50 Stars

Why does the flag have 50 stars?

The flag of the United States has 50 stars to represent the 50 states that comprise the country. Each star on the flag represents an individual state, and the arrangement of the stars on the blue field (known as the canton) reflects the constellation of stars in the sky.

The addition of stars to the flag has evolved over time to reflect the admission of new states into the Union. When the United States was established, there were 13 stars on the flag to represent the original 13 colonies. As the country expanded westward, new states were admitted, and stars were added accordingly.

The last change to the flag's star pattern occurred on July 4, 1960, with the addition of Hawaii as the 50th state. Since then, the flag has featured a total of 50 stars, representing all 50 states of the United States.

The 50 stars on the flag symbolize the unity, diversity, and strength of the United States as a nation. They represent the individual states and their contributions to the collective whole. The flag with its stars and stripes is an enduring symbol of national identity and pride, reflecting the ideals and principles upon which the United States was founded.