System of Government
The House of Representatives Has How Many Voting Members

The House of Representatives has how many voting members?

The U.S. House of Representatives is one half of the United States Congress, the other being the Senate. Together, they compose the legislative branch of the U.S. federal government.

The House is composed of representatives who sit in congressional districts that are allocated to each of the 50 states on a basis of population as measured by the U.S. Census, with each district entitled to one representative. Because of this, states with larger populations have more representatives than smaller states. For example, California, the state with the largest population, has 53 representatives. Seven states with very small populations — Alaska, Delaware, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wyoming — have only one representative.

Regardless of population, however, every state is entitled to at least one representative. Additionally, there are also six non-voting members, representing the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and four other territories of the U.S.

The number 435 has been the size of the House since 1913, except for a brief period from 1959 to 1961, when two seats were temporarily added for the new states of Alaska and Hawaii. After the next census, those two seats were eliminated and the number returned to 435.

Representatives serve two-year terms, and there are no term limits. The Speaker of the House, elected by the representatives, is second in line to succeed the President, after the Vice President.

As of 2023, there are 435 voting members in the U.S. House of Representatives.