What Is the Capital of the United States

What is the capital of the United States?

The capital of the United States is Washington, D.C. Washington, D.C. is a federal district located on the east coast of the country, along the Potomac River. It is not part of any state and was specifically created to serve as the seat of the federal government.

Washington, D.C. was established in 1790 and named after the first President of the United States, George Washington. The city was designed by French architect Pierre Charles L'Enfant and features iconic landmarks and government buildings.

The most prominent building in Washington, D.C. is the United States Capitol, which houses the legislative branch of the federal government, known as Congress. The Capitol is where the Senate and the House of Representatives meet and make laws.

Another well-known landmark is the White House, the official residence and workplace of the President of the United States. It is an iconic symbol of American democracy and serves as the executive branch's central hub.

Washington, D.C. is also home to numerous federal agencies, departments, and monuments, including the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Jefferson Memorial, and the National Mall.

The city's unique status as the capital allows it to be governed directly by the federal government, with the Mayor of D.C. and the D.C. Council serving local governance functions. The residents of Washington, D.C. have a non-voting representative in the U.S. House of Representatives but do not have voting representation in the U.S. Senate.

Washington, D.C. serves as a significant center for politics, diplomacy, history, and culture. Its status as the capital reflects the importance of the federal government and its institutions in the United States.