System of Government
Who Signs Bills to Become Laws

Who signs bills to become laws?

Bills in the United States become laws when they are signed by the President of the United States. The President has the power to sign a bill into law or veto it.

Once a bill has been passed by both the House of Representatives and the Senate in identical form, it is sent to the President for their consideration. The President has the option to sign the bill, indicating their approval and making it law. Upon signing, the bill becomes an official law and is binding.

Alternatively, if the President disagrees with the content of the bill or believes it is not in the best interest of the country, they can choose to veto the bill. A veto is a formal rejection of the bill, indicating that the President refuses to sign it into law. When a bill is vetoed, it is returned to Congress, along with the President's objections.

Congress, however, has the power to override a presidential veto. If both the House of Representatives and the Senate vote by a two-thirds majority in favor of overriding the veto, the bill becomes law despite the President's objections.

The signing or vetoing of bills by the President is an important step in the legislative process, and it serves as a check and balance between the executive and legislative branches of the federal government.