System of Government
Under Our Constitution Some Powers Belong to the Federal Government What Is One Power of the Federal Government

Under our Constitution, some powers belong to the federal government. What is one power of the federal government?

The U.S. Constitution grants several powers to the federal government. Here's one example:

The power to declare war: This power is given to the federal government, and more specifically, to Congress. This means that although the President is the commander-in-chief of the military, only Congress has the authority to formally declare war on another country.

Other powers of the federal government include the power to regulate commerce with foreign nations and between states, the power to establish and maintain an army and navy, the power to establish post offices, the power to create and enforce laws necessary and proper for the execution of its powers, and the power to admit new states into the Union, among others.